Volume 3 Dave Ruffner and the Beignet Orchestra of New Orleans

Dave Ruffner and the Beignet Orchestra Volume 3 is the third recording from the Beignet Orchestra of New Orleans. The Beignet Orchestra of New Orleans is a three piece band that performs daily at the Café Beignet on Bourbon Street. Members of the working group fluctuate each day but the constant is trombonist, harmonica playing, and singer Dave Ruffner. Two other prominent players are singer/pianist Steve Rohbock and drummer Bob Walters. Both appear on Volume 1 and 3 as well. The Beignet Orchestra Volume 3 has 20 tracks and runs a lengthy 75 minutes. Volume 1 was released in 2013. Volume 2 was released in 2016. Volume 3 features music from several genres: Dixieland Jazz, Big Band Jazz, New Orleans Rock, and Mainstream Jazz. In this recording the personnel is augmented up to 7 players. Steve Rohbock with his authentic New Orleans styled piano and voice is featured on seven tracks on Volume 3. He sings on the New Orleans rock classic SICK and TIRED made famous by Chris Kenner , Ernie K-Doe’s MOTHER- IN-LAW (written by New Orleans icon Allen Toussaint), and Huey P Smith’s DON’T YOU JUST KNOW IT.  Steve also sings Louisiana’s state song YOU ARE MY SUNSHINE, and Traditional Jazz Classics BOGALOSA STRUT, and EH, LA BAH.  On the CD’s final track, Steve is featured on GOING BACK TO NEW ORLEANS. Pianist Michael Parsons sings on MY BABE. Dave Ruffner sings on the ballads GEORGIA ON MY MIND, MOONLIGHT IN VERMONT, and TILL THERE WAS YOU. He also featured on Big Band classics MACK THE KNIFE, MY BLUE HEAVEN, MINNIE THE MOOCHER, and SWAY (especially arranged by Ryan DeSade Way).  With the New Orleans Dixieland Band Dave sings PUTTIN’ ON THE RITZ, DOWN BY THE RIVERSIDE, and JAMBALAYA (On the Bayou). The Dixieland Band also plays Dave’s original song ESPLANADE ESCAPADE and Dave sings the rock-tinged Fats Domino classic HELLO JOSEPHINE.

The recording features some very talented New Orleans musicians. There are a total of seventeen New Orleans musicians that play on this twenty track recording. Featured on guitar is New Orleans legend Cranston Clements. Two of New Orleans top sting bass players on the CD are Doug Potter and Jason Jurzak (electric bass). The Dixieland Band on the recording are a distinguish group of current and former members of the world famous Dukes of Dixieland, Current member of the Dukes of Dixieland is leader and trumpet Kevin Clarke. Former members are Danny Rubio (sousaphone) and Richard Scott (banjo). Clarinetist Tom Fischer plays with NOLA legend Banu Gipson and is a New Orleans stalwart. Drummer Spencer Knapp plays daily on Bourbon Street.